Ambulance Advisory Committee members thanked for service

December 21st, 2016

On Monday, Dec. 19, 2016, the outgoing members of the Ambulance Advisory Committee – which guided the establishment of Emmet County EMS over the last couple years – were thanked for their commitment and hours of research and dedication to ensuring a smooth transition in emergency medical response in Northwest Michigan. 

In 2013, the AAC was formed to study EMS operations and options in Emmet County. The AAC guided Emmet County officials in assuming EMS operations and establishing ECEMS. On Jan. 1, 2015, Emmet County EMS began operations under the leadership of the AAC members, who include County Commissioners, medical experts, emergency response personnel and area professionals. 

ECEMS Director Larry Hansen and AAC Chairman Denny Keiser thanked the outgoing Commissioners who have served since the AAC was established: Larry Cassidy, Les Atchison and Shawn Wonnacott.

“Because of their vision and leadership, we were able to build a state-recognized EMS service that is serving the residents and visitors to Emmet County and surrounding areas 24-hours a day, all year round,” said Hansen. “Since day one, the AAC has kept patient care as the number one priority, and it shows in the equipment, facilities, staff training and support these members have provided. We are so grateful for their time, service and input.”

Resolutions of appreciation from Hansen and Keiser noted the members “have dedicated countless hours on the AAC, analyzing the needs of the new ambulance operations and ensuring the resources to operate a county-based service where patient care is the top priority.”

Pictured are AAC members (from left) Shawn Wonnacott, Denny Keiser (chairman), Bill Marvin, Larry Cassidy, Randy Bricker Sr., Marty Krupa (Emmet County Administrator), Calvin Penfold, Dr. Randy Galloway (medical control director), and Les Atchison. 





Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Emmet County EMS

1201 Eppler Road, Petoskey, MI 49770
(231) 776-1000